0 Menu

New Irish Architecture 28: AAI Awards 2013

15.00 / On Sale

New Irish Architecture 28 is the publication of the 28th AAI Awards.

Ireland’s longest running awards programme, the AAI Awards, are the only internationally peer reviewed architecture awards in Ireland that publicly publish the critical discourse which takes place among the assessors adjudicating the awards. As a consequence the awards give the public an unprecedented insight into the critical conversations that shape the quality of our built environment and future heritage. Historically these awards have been the first to recognize the emerging talents that have gone on to become the established names of an increasingly sophisticated and internationally recognised culture of architecture in Ireland.

The intention of the AAI awards is to encourage higher standards of architecture throughout the country, to recognise projects of any scale and type that make a contribution to Irish architecture culture, and to inform the public of emerging directions in contemporary architecture.

Since 2000, a 5-person jury comprising of an architectural critic, a foreign architect, two Irish architects and a distinguished non-architect have judged the awards. The composition of the jury ensures a balance between an international perspective and an understanding of the particular context in which Irish architects work.


Elizabeth Hatz - Architectural Critic
Daniel Rosbottom - Foreign Assessor
Shane de Blacam - Irish Assessor
Donal Hickey - Irish Assessor
Maud Cotter - Distinguished non-architect

Downes Medal

Slievebawnogue — Clancy Moore Architects


Recasting — Donaghy + Dimond Architects
Medical School, Student Residences & Bus Shelter at University of Limerick — Grafton Architects
Architecture as New Geography (Venice Biennale) — Grafton Architects
Scoil Mhuire Ógh, Crumlin — Mary Laheen Architects
House in Co. Carlow — Steve Larkin Architect
4House, Firhouse — Taka Architects

Special Mentions

House in Fethard-On-Sea — Aughey O’Flaherty Architects
House on Chestnut Lane — Boyd Cody Architects
Bord Gáis Network Services Centre — Denis Byrne Architects
Garage, Co. Fermanagh — John Maguire Architect
Vessel (Venice Biennale) — O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects